Slow to speak

I am one to talk. A lot. (no harsh comments, I know I’m not the quiet type) But as I “advance” in life I seem to ALWAYS have a comment to a conversation. It’s time that I re-learn my listening skills.

With just having a baby it’s so hard to not talk about just her and my experiences all the time. Although I am no pro and will never consider myself one, the baby is not all that I have to talk about. There is so much more in life then my child. I can defiantly say that she is pretty stinkin close to being “my world”. I mean, really, everything I do revolves around that child now. But I am into so much more then just her.

I KNOW, I KNOW…. your all saying “But Cherith, thats what happens when you have a baby. Everyone expects that.”

Well, Not me! My whole life I have not been a pro at relationships. Especially with my friends. I am not one to just listen to a conversation and NOT have an opinion. I think that some people just want to vent, or talk, or maybe want your opinion but NOT your life story!! And thats my problem. I need to be slow to speak. Listen for a time when input is needed. Not when I think it’s always right.

I noticed this when I was talking with some old friends a few weeks ago. Instead of asking them about their lives and their new babies I proceeded to inform them about me… UGH…. “SLOW TO SPEAK CHERITH”

Fortunately, these girls know me and probably weren’t to shocked that I talked about Sage and my birth experience and my whole 2 months of being a mom. (to those girls, I am truly sorry. I want to know more about your lives and whats going on… I should have just shut up!)

It is even biblical that we need to be slow to speak

James 1:19 “My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak…”

Learning to focus and listen to someone else is such a talent. I admire the people that can TRULY listen to a conversation, give advice, and follow up in days to come remembering everything that was talked about.

I want to be like that! I want to be a better friend. I know that my life’s circumstances have changed and that most of my conversations will evolve around my child and me being a stay at home mom… but I want to be so much more then that. Just a better person.. a better friend…

To all of the girls and woman in my life…. thank you. Thank you for understanding my character and excepting me the way I am.

Loud. Talkative. Opinionated. New at this…

2 thoughts on “Slow to speak

  1. Aaron J says:

    I never noticed that about you… Atleast not ’til right at first, lol!
    In all honesty, we’d all do well to heed this advice. I remember my mother telling me, on more than one occasion, “Aaron, some day you’ll learn to keep your big mouth SHUT!” I know, shocker, right?! HAHAHA!!!

  2. mama says:

    how many ways to say that I love you???? That I am proud of you??? That you amaze me with your growth….your spritiual maturity?? your life?? how many times can YOU teach ME??? There are NO words for it. YOU have so much to say. YOU amaze me every single day. if you get half as much from Sage, you will be so blessed. Stay sensitive my Love. My life, my pride and joy.

Leave a Reply

