No Pain, No Gain!

You’re all familiar with this phrase. You probably heard it during a sports practice or working out with a coach.

“IF THERE IS NO PAIN YOU WILL GAIN NOTHING, KID!”

Well, what about emotional pain?? What about pain of losing your child? Or losing your job?? What about a divorce? What about a kid that refuses to believe in God and follow the world? What about losing your house, your assets?

 Where’s the gain in that??

This is something that has been on my heart this last week as I have seen a handful of friends talk about their most recent “pains”. We are always so stuck on questioning God, because in that moment, it makes NO SENSE why we are struggling so much! I, personally, have been battling God lately. There is A LOT that I just don’t get right now! I mean, seriously. It’s ridiculous the emotional rollercoaster I have been on in just one week. At this point it is just easier to throw in the towel and say “Alright. I’m Done. I give up, God. There is no “gain” in all this “pain”. And it’s not worth it!!!”

This week, I took a break from my hard-core working out and eating right. I didn’t full-blown throw it to the side, but enough to notice a difference!  BUT, I needed it. I needed time to pray. I needed time to sit. And today, at church, the Pastor asked us to take a Risk. A risk bigger then we know what to do with. No matter what God asks of us, he wants us to take that step of faith and believe that God has something better. No pain, No gain.

God didn’t call us to take the easy road. I have no idea why I am battling God so much. I have no idea what God is doing in my life (I can tell you right now, I hate it.) I have no idea what else could possibly be thrown into my path. I already feel like I am trying to carry the world. And the funny thing is, God is following behind me waiting for me to drop it so he can pick it up for me…. I’m so stubborn.

Jesus, why did you create me, knowing the storms I would face? I know you only want good for me, and I trust you in that, but I am having a hard time being patient as it comes. I need you so much more than ever. I want to take that risk for you. Give me the peace I need as I wait for the sun to shine thru the clouds.

To all my friends that have had Pain with NO gain… It’s on its way! We may not understand it now, but God knows better than anyone, that the outcome will TOTALLY be worth it.

Love you,

Cherith

James 1:2-4

” 2 Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. 3 For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. 4 So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing”

One thought on “No Pain, No Gain!

Leave a Reply

